What is a general restore?

In case of a disaster, you can do a general restore. This can be done for all data types across all accounts on a tenant, or only for specific data types in selected accounts. Restoring will completely replace your current data with the content of the snapshot that you restore. This means that none of your current data will remain, which can be useful in the case of ransomware or a virus attack. Please use general restore with caution!

NoteKeepit can restore all data types except for Teams data (Channel chat messages and Wiki pages). This data can be recovered by copy-pasting data out and downloading raw files. 

What are the configuration options?

Snapshots - The specific point in time that you want to restore the data types from.

You have the possibility to restore complete or partial snapshots. To learn more, see: What are partial snapshots?

Method of restore

Restore to a folder - Keepit will create a new folder where all the data will be restored to. This will only work for Calendar, OneDrive, and Mail.

Restore in place - This will overwrite the data on the account with the restored data.

Data types - The type of data that will be restored. Please note that not all data types are account related. SharePoint, Groups & Teams, and Public Folders have no relation to which accounts are selected, so all such data will restore.

Accounts - The accounts combined with data types define what will be restored. You can select Restore all accounts or select individual accounts.

When will my data be back?

From the moment you click on the restore button, the restore job will be put in a queue. Please be patient, as it will take a few moments for the interface to be updated. You can view your restore activity on the job monitor page, see: How to view the Job Monitor

For small accounts, Keepit will be able to restore data in a few minutes. For larger accounts, Keepit can be affected by vendor throttling. If you need data fast, we recommend that you simply download the data through our web interface while you wait for the restore to complete.