Only through a Global administrator service account with a proper license can Keepit obtain the access it needs to your data in order to back it up.
As part of the backup process and to ensure access, Keepit will make the Global admin:
- a member of all Microsoft 365 Groups and Teams included in the backup
- a member of all private channels
It is possible to manually remove the service account from a group after it has been added. However, this should only be done only if you need to switch accounts or are stopping the backup altogether.
Rest assured that adding the service account as a member or admin is completely harmless and does not in any way compromise the security of the data.
After a connector has been created with the Global admin account, you may remove the Global admin role from the user. However, if you will need to re-authenticate your connector, you will have to re-assign the Global admin role to the user before you authenticate. For more information, see: Removing the Global admin role from the backup service account
A proper license is necessary so that Keepit can make the Global Admin a member of all Office 365 Groups and Teams, and accordingly, back up this data. The following license plans give the Global administrator access to Microsoft Teams: Business Essentials; Business Premium; Enterprise E1, E3, or E5; Enterprise E4 (for anyone who purchased this plan prior to its retirement). For more information about license plans, see: How do I get access to Microsoft Teams?
A license is also necessary for Keepit to backup Public Folders.