This is a guide to help you understand what you need to do in order to properly backup and recover the three new data types that Keepit now covers:

  • SharePoint - A new data type that offers extensive coverage of SharePoint data. This replaces the old Sites backup, which is now called Sites (Legacy).
  • Groups & Teams - Previously named Office 365 Groups, this new data type now includes full Teams data coverage.
  • Public Folders - A new data type to cover messages in Public Folders as well as messages in sub-folders.

To back up these data types, you will need to grant Keepit permissions to access this data in Microsoft and re-authenticate your connector. You can do this from your connector's configuration in Keepit (see below for details).

From the side of your Microsoft account, you will not need to do anything new to backup Groups & Teams and SharePoint data (please refer to the article "Preparing your office 365 account.") However, you will need to prepare your account so that Public Folders can be properly backed up and restored.

For Keepit to backup and restore Public Folders, the Global Admin must have Owner level permissions on all folders. If you have existing Public Folders, make sure to grant the Global Admin Owner level permissions at the root level, as well as check that the Global Admin has these permissions on all sub-folders down the entire hierarchy. If you create a new Public Folder, then simply make sure to set Owner permissions at the root level and all new sub-folders will automatically have the proper permissions. This is very important because without Owner level permissions, Public Folders will fail to restore. Your Global Admin account responsible for the backup must have a license in Microsoft to backup Public Folders.

How to Re-Authenticate Your Connector

The instructions on how to properly re-authenticate your connector and enable the backup of new data types are described below. As the migration flow will depend on your previous backup configuration, please find the scenario that applies to you:

For a new configuration

If you create a new account or create a new connector after the release, then as soon as you add a new connector you will be re-directed to Microsoft to grant Keepit the necessary permissions and authenticate your connector.

When you open your configuration, you will see the three new data areas (the pre-2.0 "Sites (Legacy)" checkbox will not appear). You will be able to select them and your backup will run correctly.

For a pre-2.0 configuration

If you have a connector created before 2.0, then please follow one of the following two migration flows:

We highly recommend you re-authenticate your connector so that we can secure all your data.

1) You have Groups and/or Sites selected:

When you open the configuration window, you will see a pop-up window asking you to re-authenticate your connector. 

Selecting Yes

If you select Yes, you will be re-directed to Microsoft where you can grant new permissions to Keepit and then will be taken back to your configuration.

If Office 365 Groups had been previously selected, it will automatically be renamed to Groups & Teams. Select Save at the bottom of the configuration window and your Groups data will continue to be backed up and now this area will include the new Teams data.

Migration of SharePoint data

If Sites had been previously selected, it will now be possible to select the new SharePoint checkbox and the checkbox for Sites will become locked.

Selecting the new checkbox will start the initial backup of all your SharePoint data, but your old Sites backup will continue to run. Once the first complete backup of the new SharePoint data is completed, the old backup will be stopped and the Sites checkbox will disappear altogether.

The data types that had been previously backed up under Sites will now be backed up under the SharePoint configuration. Your old Sites snapshots will still be accessible in Keepit for their full retention periods. 

Selecting No

If you select No, you will not be able to enable the backup of new SharePoint or Public Folders data and a warning will appear next to Groups & Teams and Sites (Legacy). The warning is a reminder that we are not securing all your Groups & Teams and SharePoint data.

If you do not enable the new SharePoint backup, we will NOT be able to secure all your SharePoint data. We will continue to support the old Sites (Legacy) backup for one year from the release of 2.0 (until early 2020). After that, your SharePoint backup will be automatically upgraded to the new SharePoint data area.

Your old Office 365 Groups backup will continue to run but it will not cover all the new data that we now now support in our backup.

If you have selected No, and then try to select one of the new data type checkboxes, you will see the pop-up message asking you to re-authenticate your connector.


2) You do NOT have Groups and/or Sites selected:

You will not see the Sites (Legacy) checkbox in your configuration.
If you try to select SharePoint, Groups & Teams, or Public Folders, you will see a pop-up window asking you to re-authenticate your connector. 

Selecting Yes

If you select Yes, you will be re-directed to Microsoft where you can grant new permissions to Keepit. You will be taken back to your configuration and will be able to select all new areas for backup.

Selecting No

If you select No, you will not be able to enable the backup of new Groups & Teams, SharePoint, Public Folders data.