In Keepit, Office 365 groups and teams data is backed up in the Groups & Teams data area, while team sites are backed up in the SharePoint data area. This means that if you want to back up a group's team site and its notebook, the SharePoint backup must be enabled in addition to the Groups & Teams backup. Accordingly, what is restored from the Groups & Teams folder depends on whether or not you have the SharePoint backup enabled.

It is possible to restore an entire group and team or separate parts of your group and team. For details on how to restore team channels and posts, click here.

Note: Wiki pages are backed up, but they cannot be restored, only downloaded or shared.

Restore an entire group and team

To restore a group and team:

1. Navigate to the group you want to restore. The group will have the same name as the team.

2. To the right of the group, select the more options icon and then select Restore.

What data is restored?

When you restore an entire group, you also bring back the team. Together this includes Conversations, Plans, Files, Calendar, and Channels. All channel posts and post replies are also returned. 

What will happen to team sites and notebooks depends on whether you have SharePoint enabled:

  • If SharePoint is enabled

If you lost a group and its team site:

When you restore the group, the group, team, and team site are restored completely. The notebook will also be created.

If you lost a group and but the team site still exists:

When you restore the group, the group and team are restored along with the team site and notebook, but the site will have a new URL.

Note: If you lost a team site but the group still exists, restore the team site from the SharePoint backup.

  • If SharePoint is not enabled

When you restore a group, the group and team will be restored. A new site will be created, but it will be empty and there will be no notebook.

Restore separate parts of your Groups & Teams data

You can restore Groups & Teams data at any level, from entire Plans, Files, Calendar, Conversations, and Channels folders, down to individual items. If you want to restore team channels or posts, see: Restore team channels and posts 

To restore SharePoint team sites and notebooks, you must click on the link to take you to your SharePoint backup.

To restore a part of your Groups & Teams data:

1. Navigate to the level you want to restore.

2. Select the more options icon and then select Restore.