To restore a service principal:

1. In your connector, find the service principal you want to restore.
2. Optional: If you want to restore an item from an earlier point in time, open the Snapshots Viewer. Then select the appropriate snapshot.
3. To the right of the item, click ••• Restore.
4. Click Yes to restore the item.

Note: To restore multiple items at a time, select the items. In the toolbar, click Restore.


What happens to your service principals after you restore?

Data is restored in place.

Restoring a service principal will update application properties and reestablish links to its owners, users, and groups.

Notes:

  • A service principal can be restored only if the related application (app registration) exists in Azure AD.
  • A relationship can be reestablished only if the linked object exists in Azure AD.

Limitations

Due to API limitations, we do not back up or restore the following:

  • Roles and administrators
  • Single sign-on
  • Self-service
  • Permissions

Permissions

To ensure the application works properly, grant the permissions requested by the application after you restore the service principal.

In Azure AD, open the service principal, then click Permissions. Click the button Grant admin consent.