Below describes the methods of restore available when using the Restore Wizard and what happens to your Microsoft 365 data when you restore it.

Methods of Restore

In-place

Available for:

  • Exchange Online (Mail, Calendar, Contacts, Tasks, In-Place Archive) and Public Folders 
  • OneDrive (Files)
  • SharePoint (Sites, Subsites, Team sites)
  • Groups & Teams (Conversations, Files & Plans, Calendar, Sites & Members)


Will items be deleted?

For Exchange, OneDrive, and Groups & Teams, items present in Microsoft 365 but not in the snapshot you are restoring from will be deleted

For SharePoint, list items that are not present in the snapshot you are restoring from but that are present in SharePoint will be deleted. All other SharePoint data will not be deleted

To new folder

Available for:

  • Mail, Calendar, and In-Place Archive (Exchange)
  • OneDrive

If you select to restore To new folder, a new folder will be created where all the data will be restored to. The folder will be found at the root level of your Outlook, Calendar, In-Place Archive, or OneDrive and named "Keepit_Restore_[date of restore]." 

Calendars


Outlook


OneDrive



Will items be deleted?

Items present in OneDrive but not in the snapshot you are restoring from will not be deleted.


Handling Duplicates

When you restore in place using the Restore Wizard, you can chose what to do in case of duplicates. 

If you restore duplicate items with the same timestamps, the items will be skipped regardless of which option you choose. What happens with items with the same filename but with different timestamps is determined by the option you chose for handling duplicates. 


Exchange

In all cases, items present in Exchange but not in the snapshot will be deleted.

  • Skip duplicate items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be skipped.

  • Rename duplicate items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be added to Exchange. These items will not renamed because they have their own unique IDs and receive new IDs each time they are restored.


OneDrive

In all cases, items present in OneDrive but not in the snapshot will be deleted.

  • Skip duplicate items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be skipped.

  • Rename duplicate items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be added and renamed. The suffix "(1)" will be added to the filename.

  • Overwrite existing items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will overwrite the items in OneDrive.


SharePoint

In all cases, list items that are not present in the snapshot you are restoring from but that are present in SharePoint will be deleted. All other SharePoint data will not be deleted.

  • Skip duplicate items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be skipped.

  • Overwrite existing items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will overwrite the items in SharePoint.


Groups & Teams

In all cases, group conversations, calendar events, plan tasks, and files present in Groups & Teams but not in the snapshot will be deleted.
Team channel posts and replies present in Groups & Teams but not in the snapshot will not be deleted.

  • Skip duplicate items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) skipped.

Modified plan tasks (same item but with different timestamps) will overwrite the plan tasks in Groups.

  • Overwrite existing items

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will overwrite items in Groups & Teams.