What can be restored?

Keepit backs up all three SharePoint site pages types: Modern, Web Part, and Wiki, but we can only restore Modern and Wiki types.

Methods

A SharePoint site or subsite can be restored using two different methods:

  • In place overwriting the original site
  • As a new site with a new URL

Both methods of restore work for all types of sites.

In Place

Restoring in place brings the site back to its original location by overwriting the original site.

As a New Site

Restoring as a new site creates a new site with a new URL in parallel with the existing source site. The site will work like the original site - all users and permissions will also be restored.

You can restore a site as a new site only if the original site still exists in SharePoint. If the site no longer exists, you will not be presented with the option to select a restore method.


To restore a SharePoint site in place:

1. Navigate to the site or subsite you want to restore.

Note: If you want to restore a site or subsite from an earlier point in time, select the Snapshots Viewer icon and then select the appropriate snapshot.

2. To the right of your site, select ••• > Restore.

3. Select Restore in place (overwrite existing site), and then select Next.

4. Review the restore summary and select Confirm. The site will be returned to its original location. 


To restore a SharePoint site as a new site:

1. Navigate to the site or subsite you want to restore.

Note: If you want to restore a site or subsite from an earlier point in time, select the Snapshots Viewer icon and then select the appropriate snapshot.

2. To the right of your site, select ••• > Restore.

3. Select Restore site as a new site (with new URL) and then select Next.
4. In the field New site, enter a new name for your site. A new URL ending will automatically be added and the new site URL will be displayed.

Note: The URL must be unique and cannot contain special characters. If URL already exists in SharePoint you will see the error message New SharePoint site URL is required.
5. Optional: You can edit the new URL ending if you want it to differ from the name of the new site. 

6. Select Next.

7. Review the restore summary and select Confirm. The site will be restored and will appear in the same location in the hierarchy in SharePoint.


What happens to SharePoint site items when I restore sites in place? 

If files (including site pages) in your Document Library or Views of Lists and Document Libraries with the same name already exist in SharePoint, they will be overwritten with the data in the snapshot.

If items in your Lists with the same ID (regardless if the names are the same or different) already exist in SharePoint, they will be overwritten with the data in the snapshot.

If a subsite ID in SharePoint differs from the subsite ID in the snapshot (for example, if the subsite was previously lost and created), the subsite will be skipped. 

If the quick launch menu of a site in SharePoint differs from the one in the snapshot, it will be overwritten by the menu in the snapshot.

If a file with a sensitivity label still exists in SharePoint, the restore of the file's content will fail because of a lack of permissions. Only the metadata will be overwritten and the restore job will be marked as failed.