Keepit has several types of user roles, each of which has a different set of permissions. Users can perform the actions of their roles only on connectors they have access to.

Important: All connectors that were created before the release of Keepit Q1 2020 are available to all existing users unless access is restricted. All new connectors are only accessible to certain user roles until access is granted to other users. Click here for a step-by-step guide on how to manage access.
The Master Administrator is the only user role who has the ability to create new users.

Here's a matrix of available user roles and what permissions are available for each one:

When creating a new user, the Master Administrator will see a list of all permissions available for each role. To learn more about each permission, the Master Administrator can hover over the permission name to open a tooltip with an explanation. 

Permissions and descriptions

  • Create connectors
    User can create new connectors
  • Configure connectors
    User can configure connectors
  • Delete connectors
    User can delete connectors
  • Manage access to connectors
    User can grant and restrict access to connectors to other users
  • Restore or import: skip
    User can use the Restore Wizard to restore or import items in place using the "Skip duplicate items" method
  • Restore or import: overwrite
    User can use the Restore Wizard to restore or import items in place using the "Overwrite existing items" method
  • Restore or import: rename
    User can use the Restore Wizard to restore or import items in place using the "Rename duplicate items" method
  • Restore to folder
    User can use the Restore Wizard to restore items to a new folder
  • Initiate item restore
    User can restore individual files and folders
  • Preview files
    User can preview files
  • Download items
    User can download items as ZIP and PST files
  • Create public links
    User can share files or folders as public links
  • View Job Monitor
    User can view the Job Monitor page
  • View Audit Log
    User can view the audit logs
  • Configure SSO
    User can create, edit, and delete SSO configurations

  • Create, edit, delete users
    User can create new users, edit and delete existing users