All Microsoft 365 files and folders can be restored in place.

Outlook, Calendar, In-Place Archive, and OneDrive folders can also be restored to folder. This means that the data will be restored to a newly created separate folder in Microsoft 356. 

When you restore in place, what will happen to duplicate items depends on what data you restore. 

In-place restore

By default, all items are restored in place. Certain items can also be restored to folder (see below).

Will items be deleted?

When performing an Item Restore, items present in Microsoft but not in the snapshot you are restoring from will not be deleted. 

Exchange

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be added to Exchange. These items will not renamed because they have their own unique IDs and receive new IDs each time they are restored.

Important: If you are restoring an email from the Sent Items folder, the timestamp in the Outlook web app on the restored email will reflect the date and time that the email was restored, NOT the date and time that the email was sent. The reason for it is that for Sent items, the Outlook web app uses the create date timestamp instead of the sent date, despite the fact that the metadata contains the correct information. In the Outlook desktop app, the timestamp on the restored email will reflect the date and time the email was sent.

OneDrive

Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be overwritten.

SharePoint

Restoring in place brings the SharePoint site back to its original location by overwriting the original site.

SharePoint site items

  • If files (including site pages) in your Document Library or Views of Lists and Document Libraries with the same name already exist in SharePoint, they will be overwritten with the data in the snapshot.
  • If items in your Lists with the same ID (regardless if the names are the same or different) already exist in SharePoint, they will be overwritten with the data in the snapshot.
  • If a subsite ID in SharePoint differs from the subsite ID in the snapshot (for example, if the subsite was previously lost and created), the subsite will be skipped. 
  • If the quick launch menu of a site in SharePoint differs from the one in the snapshot, it will be overwritten by the menu in the snapshot.

Groups & Teams

Files
Modified files (same item but with different timestamps) will be overwritten.

Calendar events
Modified events (same item but with different timestamps) will be added to the Calendar.

Plan tasks
Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be skipped.

Group Conversations
Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be skipped.

Channel posts
Modified posts (same item but with different timestamps) will be added to Teams.


To new folder 

Mail, Calendar, In-Place Archives, and OneDrive folders can also be restored to folder. This means that the data will be restored to a newly created separate folder in Microsoft 356. 

If you select to restore To new folder, a new folder will be created where all the data will be restored to. The folder will be found at the root level of your Mail, Calendar, In-Place Archive, or OneDrive and named "Keepit_Restore_[date of restore]." 

Will items be deleted?

Items present in OneDrive but not in the snapshot you are restoring from will not be deleted.