A SharePoint site or subsite can be restored using two different methods: in place overwriting the original site or to a new location with a new URL.

Restoring in place brings the site back to its original location by overwriting the original site.

Restoring to a new location creates a new site with a new URL in parallel with the existing source site. The site will work like the original site - all users and permissions will also be restored.

You can restore a site to a new location only if the original site still exists in SharePoint. If the site no longer exists, you will only not be presented with the option to select a restore method.

Both methods of restore work for all types of sites.

To restore a SharePoint site in place:

1. Navigate to the site or subsite you want to restore.

Note: If you want to restore a site or subsite from an earlier point in time, in the upper-left corner select the monitor icon, select History Snapshots, and then select the appropriate snapshot.

2. Select the more options icon to the right of your site and select Restore.

3. Select Restore in place (overwrite existing site), and then select Yes. The site will be returned to its original location. 

To restore a SharePoint site to a new location:

1. Navigate to the site or subsite you want to restore.

Note: If you want to restore a site or subsite from an earlier point in time, in the upper-left corner select the monitor icon, select History Snapshots, and then select the appropriate snapshot.

2. Select the more options icon to the right of your site and select Restore.

3. Select Restore site to new location (with new URL).  

4. In the field New site name, enter a new name for your site.

5. In the field New URL, enter new URL for your site.

Note: The URL must be unique and cannot contain special characters. If URL already exists in SharePoint you will see the error message Site with this URL exists.

6. Select Yes to confirm your restore. The site will appear in the same location in the hierarchy in SharePoint.