Import is a function that restores account-related data and is available only for Exchange and OneDrive data. A user cannot import individual files or folders, but only all or specific data types across selected accounts.  

An import can restore data from an older snapshot back to the same account or it can restore data from one user account to another. The user accounts can be located on the same connector or on different Microsoft 365 connectors.  

Import differs from restore in that no data is deleted from the Microsoft 365 in case items are missing in a snapshot but are still present in Microsoft.  

Import Exchange data

1. Find the connector you want to import data to and open the import wizard by selecting the Restore icon.

2. Select Import, select the connector from which you want to import data, and then select Next.

3. Select a snapshot from the time you want to restore and select Next.


4. Select Exchange, and then select Next.


5. Select what Exchange data types you want to import and then close the data types section by selecting the down arrow.


6. On the left side you will see a list of user accounts that belong to the target connector (the connector you are importing data to). One the right side you will find the user accounts from the source connector (the connector you are importing data from).

From the list of users on the left, find the user you want to import data to. To the right of that user, select from the drop-down list the user you want to import data from. Repeat for all users you want to import data to and select Next.


7. Select how to handle duplicates and select Next.

The In-place method will automatically be selected. Imported data is always brought back to Microsoft to the location corresponding to the data type.

When importing Exchange items to a location that already contains items with the same name, you have the following options:

  • Skip duplicate items:
    If you are importing from one user to the same user, modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be skipped.
    If you are importing from a different user, modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be added to Exchange.
  • Rename duplicate items: Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be added to Exchange.

8. Review the summary and select Import.

Note: Items present in the user account but not in the snapshot you are importing from will not be deleted.

Import OneDrive data

1. Find the connector you want to import data to and open the import wizard by selecting the Restore icon.

2. Select Import, select the connector from which you want to import data, and then select Next.

3. Select a snapshot from the time you want to restore and select Next.


4. Select OneDrive. 


5On the left side you will see a list of user accounts that belong to the target connector (the connector you are importing data to). One the right side you will find the user accounts from the source connector (the connector you are importing data from).

From the list of users on the left, find the user you want to import data to. To the right of that user, select from the drop-down list the user you want to import data from from. Repeat for all users you want to import data to and select Next.


6. Select how to handle duplicates and select Next.

The In-place method will automatically be selected. Imported data is always brought back to Microsoft to the location corresponding to the data type.

When importing OneDrive items to a location that already contains items with the same name, you have the following options:

  • Skip duplicate items: Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be skipped.
  • Rename duplicate items: Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will be added and renamed. The suffix "(1)" will be added to the filename.
  • Overwrite existing items: Modified items (same item but with different timestamps) will overwrite the items in OneDrive.

7. Review the summary and then select Import.

Note: Items present in the user account but not in the snapshot you are importing from will not be deleted.