What happens to your SharePoint data depends on what and how you restore it.
Listed below are various ways your data is restored:
- When you restore your SharePoint data, it will be created in your SharePoint.
- When you restore a SharePoint site, you can select to restore in place or to a new location. If you Select in place your original site will be overwritten. If you select to a new location, a new site will be created in parallel to the existing source site.
- Sites that are not found in the snapshot you are restoring but that are found in your SharePoint will not be deleted.
- If a Subsite ID in a snapshot differs from the Subsite ID SharePoint (for example, if the Subsite was previously lost and created), the Subsite will be skipped.
- If files in your Document Library or Views of Lists and Document Libraries with the same name already exist in SharePoint, they will be overwritten.
- If items in your Lists with the same ID (regardless if the names are the same or different) already exist in SharePoint, they will be overwritten.
- If you try restore an item to a location that no longer exists, then the location will be created. For example, if you try to restore an item from a Document Library that was deleted, then a Document Library will be created and this file will also be created but it will have default column settings. However, in these cases we recommend you restore the whole Document Library. See: How do I restore my SharePoint data?
- In certain cases, you may not be able to restore data if parent content or configurations (such as views, permissions, etc.) are missing from SharePoint. See: Can I restore any part of my SharePoint data?