The first time you create a connector, the configuration window will automatically appear.

The connector will be named "Microsoft 365 Backup."  You can enter a new name for your connector.

By default, all data areas, including all data, as well as all AD groups (for Exchange and OneDrive), all sites (for SharePoint), and all groups (for Groups & Teams) will be selected for your backup.

If you want to customize your backup settings, select Configure under the data area you want to change.

Important: To start your first backup, you must select Save on the configuration window. If you select Cancel, a connector will be created but the back up will not begin until you save the configuration.

To edit your configuration in the future, simply click the gear icon to the right of the connector you want to back up.

Exchange Online Backup Settings

Here you can see what AD groups and users are selected for backup. You can customize your backup, but we recommend you include all AD groups and data types so that all of your data is covered.

The backup configuration works by automatically adding to the backup all new users and groups. This way you can rest assured that all your users and data are always being protected. 

For more information about selecting groups and the auto-add feature, see: Selecting users for Exchange and OneDrive backups. 

By default, your Exchange and OneDrive groups selections are linked. This means that the same AD groups and users selected in the Exchange configuration will have their OneDrive backed up, just as any group or user selection made in the OneDrive configuration will be applied to the Exchange backup.

You have the option to unlink them and select different AD groups and users for each data area.


Important: If you have had different AD groups selected and backed up for Exchange and OneDrive, but then decide to link the selection, the user configuration will synchronize from the data area you enable it. This means if you enable it from the Exchange configuration, then the OneDrive's AD groups selection will be cleared and the Exchange selection will be applied to OneDrive, and vice versa.

You can also see what public folders are selected for backup.


Select Advanced to see what data types are covered. 

Select OK to save changes or Cancel to exit without saving changes.

OneDrive Backup Settings

Here you can see what users' OneDrive are included in the backup. You can customize your backup, but we recommend you include all AD groups so that all of your data is covered.

Select OK to save changes or Cancel to exit without saving changes.

SharePoint Online Backup Settings

Here you can see what sites are selected for backup. You can customize your backup, but we recommend you include all sites so that all of your data is covered.

By default, the auto-add new sites feature will be enabled. This means that all new sites that are created in SharePoint will be automatically added to the backup. 

Select Advanced to see what parts of your SharePoint data are being backed up. You can exclude a specific type of SharePoint data.

Please keep in mind that limiting the data in your backup can affect your restore functionality. Accordingly, the advanced SharePoint configuration should be used only in cases where very large amounts of data need to be backed up or for troubleshooting. For more information on how your restore can be affected, see: Restoring SharePoint data with a custom backup configuration

Note: It is not possible to select only metadata for the backup. Library files and/or List items must also be selected. 

Select OK to save changes or Cancel to close the window without saving changes. 

Your changes will come into effect as soon as the next backup begins.

Groups & Teams Backup Settings

Here you can see all Microsoft 365 groups and data types that are included in your backup. You can customize your backup, but we recommend you include all groups and data types so that all your data is covered.

By default the auto-add new groups feature will be enabled. This means that all new groups that are created in Microsoft 365 will be automatically added to the backup. 


Select Advanced to see what data types are covered. Selecting the SharePoint data type means that team sites and their notebooks will be backed up. Learn more: Microsoft 365 Groups and Teams data coverage 


Watch a video tutorial on how to configure your Microsoft 365 backup