When you add a new connector, by default all data areas will be selected for your backup.

We recommend you create separate connectors for different areas (see below for details). This means that when you first configure your connector, exclude the other data areas from the backup before saving. Then proceed to create two more connectors for the other data areas. 

Important: The first time you create a connector, to schedule your first backup, you must select Save on the configuration window. If you select Cancel, a connector will be created but the back up will not begin until you save the configuration.

To edit your configuration in the future, simply click the gear icon to the right of the connector you want to back up.


Back up data areas across three connectors

We highly recommend you create three separate connectors for different data areas of Microsoft 365:

  • one connector to back up Exchange data
  • one connector to back up OneDrive data
  • one connector to back up Groups & Teams and SharePoint data

Note: You can use the same Microsoft Global administrator account for each connector. 

This is an optimal setup because Exchange and OneDrive do not have linked data, while Groups & Teams and SharePoint do.

Backing up data across different connectors will ensure a faster initial backup speed. This is because we use separate APIs to back up different data areas. Separating data will prevent certain data from stalling the back up other data. Learn more about how we process data here.

Additionally, this can help to improve the back performance of Exchange data if you encounter throttling from the side of Microsoft. In this case, you can have Microsoft temporarily raise your throttling limits, and as a result the data on this connector will be backed up and become accessible quicker. Learn more about throttling and what can be done here.

Finally, this setup will also ensure a higher performing subfolder search.


Configuring data areas

To customize your backup settings, select Configure under the data area you want to change.


Exchange backup configuration

Here you can see what AD groups and users are selected for backup. You can customize your backup, but we recommend you include all AD groups and data types so that all of your data is covered.

The backup configuration works by automatically adding to the backup all new users and groups This way you can rest assured that all your users and data are always being protected. 

For more information about selecting groups and the auto-add feature, see: Selecting users for Exchange and OneDrive backups

Linking Exchange and OneDrive groups selection

By default, your Exchange and OneDrive groups selections are linked. This means that the same AD groups and users selected in the Exchange configuration will have their OneDrive backed up, just as any group or user selection made in the OneDrive configuration will be applied to the Exchange backup.

You have the option to unlink them and select different AD groups and users for each data area.

Important: If you have had different AD groups selected and backed up for Exchange and OneDrive, but then decide to link the selection, the user configuration will synchronize from the data area you enable it. This means if you enable it from the Exchange configuration, then the OneDrive's AD groups selection will be cleared and the Exchange selection will be applied to OneDrive, and vice versa.

Public folders

In the lower part of the window you can include public folders in the backup. Select Public folders list, and then the refresh icon to see the list of public folders.

Advanced settings

Select Advanced to see what data types are covered.

Saving changes

Select OK to save changes or Cancel to exit without saving changes.


OneDrive backup configuration

Here you can see what users' OneDrives are included in the backup. You can customize your backup, but we recommend you include all AD groups so that all of your data is covered.

Saving changes

Select OK to save changes or Cancel to exit without saving changes.


SharePoint backup configuration

Here you can see what sites are selected for backup. You can customize your backup, but we recommend you include all sites so that all of your data is covered.

By default, the auto-add new sites feature will be enabled. This means that all new sites that are created in SharePoint will be automatically added the backup.

Advanced settings

Select Advanced to see what parts of your SharePoint data are being backed up. You can exclude a specific type of SharePoint data.

Please keep in mind that limiting the data in your backup can affect your restore functionality. Accordingly, the advanced SharePoint configuration should be used only in cases where very large amounts of data need to be backed up or for troubleshooting. For more information on how your restore can be affected, see: Restoring SharePoint data with a custom backup configuration

Note: It is not possible to select only metadata for the backup. Library files and/or List items must also be selected. 

Saving changes

Select OK to save changes or Cancel to exit without saving changes.


Groups & Teams backup configuration

Here you can see all Microsoft 365 groups and data types that are included in your backup. You can customize your backup, but we recommend you include all groups and data types so that all your data is covered.

By default, the auto-add new groups feature will be enabled. This means that all new groups that are created in Microsoft 365 will be automatically added the backup.

Advanced settings

Select Advanced to see what data types are covered.

Selecting the SharePoint data type means that team sites and their notebooks will be backed up. Learn more: Microsoft 365 Groups and Teams data coverage

Saving changes

Select OK to save changes or Cancel to exit without saving changes.


Watch how to configure your Microsoft 365 backup